AcuraLegend.Org - The Acura Legend Forum for All Generations of the Honda / Acura Legend; 1986 to Present  

Go Back   AcuraLegend.Org - The Acura Legend Forum for All Generations of the Honda / Acura Legend; 1986 to Present > General DIY Discussions > DIY > First Generation Legend (1986 - 1990)

Old 06-03-2009, 01:53 PM   #1
sam o nela
Banned

sam o nela is a glorious beacon of lightsam o nela is a glorious beacon of lightsam o nela is a glorious beacon of lightsam o nela is a glorious beacon of lightsam o nela is a glorious beacon of lightsam o nela is a glorious beacon of light
Default Cleaning Front Drain Holes

Originally Posted by Ken

How to clean Front Drain holes for G1 (Sunroof/Non-Sunroof)

I’m only 13 so this is my first try. (I think I’m the first young guy to do this.)

Tools: 1 long piece of hard wire that can be bent with a bit of force (about 4 feet long)

1 big pair of tweezers (Mine were 1 foot long)

1 tiny pail that can fit under the car

1 Phillip screw driver

Time: About half an hour, a bit more if you have a sunroof

Procedures:

1)(Skip to step 2 if you don’t have a sunroof) Take the long piece of wire and stick it down the front sunroof drain hole and try to clear as much debris as possible. (pull the wire up and down to get the stuff down in to the drain hole where the splash guard is) Repeat for both sides.

2)Spray some high pressured water down the drain between the windshield and the hood on both sides. If you have a sunroof, spray a little stream down the drain holes to clear the rest of the debris out.

3)Remove the front splash guards or as much of the bottom half as possible. This will loosen the fender well cover a bit on the bottom. Now take your big tweezers and stick it into the gap. Get as much debris out as you can. Don’t forget to use the pail to put the slimy stuff in. Spray more water in to the top drain holes to let the rest of the debris flow out.