AcuraLegend.Org - The Acura Legend Forum for All Generations of the Honda / Acura Legend; 1986 to Present  

Go Back   AcuraLegend.Org - The Acura Legend Forum for All Generations of the Honda / Acura Legend; 1986 to Present > Second Generation Legend -- 1991 - 1995 > 2nd Gen. Legend General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2019, 03:12 PM   #1
IamPlan_B
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Pomona,CA
Posts: 80
IamPlan_B is on a distinguished road
Default ABS modulator

How difficult is it to replace this unit, have an abs light on, and didn't kick in when some assface cut me off and this happened

IamPlan_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 04:49 PM   #2
JKLedbetter
Marcel's cousin
 
JKLedbetter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Trinity, AL
Posts: 748



JKLedbetter will become famous soon enough
Default

Not tremendously difficult.

But how do you know the problem is the modulator?

-Kennon
JKLedbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 06:19 PM   #3
IamPlan_B
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Pomona,CA
Posts: 80
IamPlan_B is on a distinguished road
Default

Well when I slammed the brakes super hard , the pedal didn't kick when abs is working and light is always on and don't. Blink
IamPlan_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 06:34 PM   #4
ActionJackson
Legends to go,please
 
ActionJackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,898
ActionJackson is a jewel in the roughActionJackson is a jewel in the roughActionJackson is a jewel in the rough
Default

If ABS light is on, it in inoperativ. You need to pull code to determine the issue.
__________________
2016 Florida New Years / White Christmas Meet
ActionJackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2019, 07:49 PM   #5
IamPlan_B
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Pomona,CA
Posts: 80
IamPlan_B is on a distinguished road
Default

I tried connecting the jumper to connect but its not blinking, so I tried the other plug down there and still nothing. I know one is for ecu .
IamPlan_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 07:28 PM   #6
IamPlan_B
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Pomona,CA
Posts: 80
IamPlan_B is on a distinguished road
Default

Tried to pull codes with jumper wire on service connected in kick panel. If I start engine with jumper on I get check engine light on, abs off. If I pull it off abs comes on and engine light off.
Either way I get no blinking abs for codes
I also check fuses in engine fuse box, and get nothing out of Alb 1

What am I doing wrong or what else can I check for . I was going to buy a ass ecu from yard, but didn't want to spend 70 on it if that's not the problem
IamPlan_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 11:06 AM   #7
JKLedbetter
Marcel's cousin
 
JKLedbetter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Trinity, AL
Posts: 748



JKLedbetter will become famous soon enough
Default

I'm not sure if it works the same for the G2, but in the G1 the ABS computer is mounted behind the back seat on the (USDM) driver's side, which requires you to open the trunk and look through a flap in the trunk liner in order to see the ABS codes.

-Kennon
JKLedbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 02:46 PM   #8
IamPlan_B
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Pomona,CA
Posts: 80
IamPlan_B is on a distinguished road
Default

Abs computer on g2 is passenger side behind rear seat back. There are two service connectors on pass. Kick panel , one for engine ecu and other is for abs ecu.

Update, was able to get the abs light to start blinking code after trying a different jumper wire. After key on it blinked 3 times with 2 seconds in between each blink.
IamPlan_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 08:26 AM   #9
ari_one
MeltingInTheSun
 
ari_one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 2,178

ari_one will become famous soon enough
Default

The codes can be found here: http://www.atfinley.com/service/inde...&z=2690&r=0666 My guess is that you are getting code 1, pump motor overrun.
__________________
Parting out 4 91 L Sedans (mostly type 'F', some type 'E') and 93 Coupe type 'E':
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...it?usp=sharing

ari_one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 05:27 PM   #10
ActionJackson
Legends to go,please
 
ActionJackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,898
ActionJackson is a jewel in the roughActionJackson is a jewel in the roughActionJackson is a jewel in the rough
Default

Yep, pump/modulator is defective.
__________________
2016 Florida New Years / White Christmas Meet
ActionJackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: ABS Modulator jose3030 OEM Parts 2 07-20-2017 08:25 PM
ABS Modulator Leak tenk otomubay 2nd Gen. Legend General Discussion 2 01-21-2014 04:44 AM
ABS modulator rebuild? cakes 1st Gen. Legend General Discussion 5 08-18-2012 08:24 AM
FS: Remanufactured OEM Legend ABS Modulator Olikado OEM Parts 6 02-29-2012 03:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

AcuraLegend.Org is not affiliated with, nor represents in any form, Acura and Honda Motor Company. Some logos and names used herein remain the trademark of Honda Motor Company.