AcuraLegend.Org - The Acura Legend Forum for All Generations of the Honda / Acura Legend; 1986 to Present  

Go Back   AcuraLegend.Org - The Acura Legend Forum for All Generations of the Honda / Acura Legend; 1986 to Present > AcuraLegend.Org > New Member Introductions

Old 12-08-2019, 08:15 PM   #1
maximdan
maximdan

maximdan is on a distinguished road
Smile Newbie here, 2nd time Acura owner

Hello all,

My name is Daniel and I just picked up a 1988 Legend Coupe 5 speed from a high school friend. He brought the car down from the Bay Area to RADwood SoCal event this past weekend (where I met Tyson, who introduced me to this forum) and I am just getting to know the car as I bought the car without asking questions, just based on the photos I saw.

1. White 1988 Acura Legend Coupe Base Model with 5 speed manual with fabric interior.
2. It currently has about 193,000 miles.
3. It drives well and stops well.
4. Very few rust spots.
5. Many felt pieces in the interior are in bad shape, so I want to scrape them off in coming weeks.
6. All windows go up and down, but slooowly. My friend suggested that I shouldn't use the back windows much as the motor will be almost impossible to source when they fail. No problem.
7. Rearview mirror has weird looking spots, but must be age related. Will cover it up with aftermarket larger mirror.
8. Haven't looked closely under the car, yet, but haven't seen any oil leaks in the driveway, although I was told that power steering fluid does leak little.
9. Some tears and missing screws in interior, so I will be visiting local junkyard to source some of the missing screws soon.

10. One serious issue that I did encounter so far is that brake lights work intermittently. I have replaced all the bulbs (four 2057 bulbs and one 1156 bulb) and checked all the fuses. The brake lamps did light up couple of times, but at the moment, it's not working. Before I take it to a mechanic, any suggestions as to what may be the cause of this problem?