AcuraLegend.Org - The Acura Legend Forum for All Generations of the Honda / Acura Legend; 1986 to Present  

Go Back   AcuraLegend.Org - The Acura Legend Forum for All Generations of the Honda / Acura Legend; 1986 to Present > Second Generation Legend -- 1991 - 1995 > 2nd Gen. Legend Performance Enhancements

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2009, 12:07 AM   #1
Telion
Don't doubt it!
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hopefully In your ECU ;)
Posts: 2,925
Telion will become famous soon enoughTelion will become famous soon enough
Send a message via MSN to Telion
Default Buzzards C32A race engine

C32A Turbo race engine.
Here are the much waited for photos, in no paticular order.

http://www.newcastlelaps.net/members/buzzard1.JPG
http://www.newcastlelaps.net/members/buzzard2.JPG
http://www.newcastlelaps.net/members/buzzard3.JPG
http://www.newcastlelaps.net/members/buzzard4.JPG
http://www.newcastlelaps.net/members/buzzard5.JPG
http://www.newcastlelaps.net/members/buzzard6.JPG
http://www.newcastlelaps.net/members/buzzard7.JPG
http://www.newcastlelaps.net/members/buzzard8.JPG
http://www.newcastlelaps.net/members/buzzard9.JPG
http://www.newcastlelaps.net/members/buzzard10.JPG
http://www.newcastlelaps.net/members/buzzard11.JPG
http://www.newcastlelaps.net/members/buzzard12.JPG
http://www.newcastlelaps.net/members/buzzard13.JPG
http://www.newcastlelaps.net/members/buzzard14.JPG

Probably not 56K friendly

I cant claim credit for the fabrication, that is the customers work, however, i tune it and suggested much of the setup. It was a team effort.

How the dissy works is pretty simple, the rotor button is mounted on the cam wheel so it turns with the engine.

buzzard10.jpg is a shot of the crank trigger sensor. The actual trigger is mounted behind the crank pulley.

The 2 pulleys run a small pump, for the torque converer. It is made from a L series datsun engine oil pump.

The last 2 photos are shots of the headers we used on our N/A engine which we raced before building the turbo engine

Chris


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dv8
mighty good jobe mate. Fab work is awesome, now how about we drop that in a legend?

How does the distributor work?
what are the two little pulleys on the backside for?

~TRu Hybird
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
We are using ross forged pistons and Argo rods the stock gear is not
suitable for endurance racing.

Chris

Originally Posted by sr79labrat
How much are those rods and pistons? What kind of stress/power/boost can they handle? Are they any good for a daily driver? You see what I am getting at dont you? How much are they goin cost me?

Thx Kyle
The rods run to about $2200 per set. We are currently around 77 cents US to the AUS dollar.

The Ross pistons you can get yourself, they are made in the US. Not sure on the price.

There is no problem with the rods, as much power as you want. I think you will find weaknesses in the engine design before you find the ultimate strength of the rod.

No problem for a daily driver but why ???

Originally Posted by sr79labrat
THanks for the info! So what psi did you burn through the piston? What are the limits on the rods that you have seen so far? I am curious to see what I can do w 150K miles without breaking anything serious. I want to get 400hp/ tq to the wheels reliably. Is this possible on stock internals minus the HG?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks, K
Actually we use a standard honda head gasket, but we o-ring the block.
We burnt the piston @ 12psi, however there were several contributing factors.

A very hot race day, causing the engine to run hot, and a cooling system that was not fully sorted.

A slightly over exuberent tune on my part, cause by the owners constant urging.

Use of a NGK heat range 5 plug at the request of the engine builder.

Use in endurance racing, this engine did a days dyno and around 120 race miles.

Reducing the advance by 2 degrees and fitting heat range 7 plugs resulted in an engine that ran several races successfully before the overboost.


So, with carefull tuning and component selection you may get many miles from the engine, however i would order a piston kit.

Chris
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally Posted by sr79labrat
I have a turbonetics T4 the smaller 1 of the 2 something like to4e. The range is 250-550 hp....I think I am barely getting in the power range of the turbo. It is way to big in my opinion- I put down maybe 180/185 hp/tq up here in colo spgs (6400ft). I t3t4 would be much better down the line. What turbo are you guys running? Next time you order pistions I may have to give you some $ and order me some to.

Thx, K
I am doing the tuning for 3 different engines, we use T25G's, rated 250 hp each, so we are running a tad over the rating, but i have been told they will supply air for 330 hp each.

The second engine is a stocker with Argo rods an CP pistons, the same turbos but with larger compressor cover, and it puts out 305hp at the wheels @ 14 psi.

The 3rd engineis built much like ours, with rods, pistons, cams, GT35R turbo and makes 365 at the wheels @12psi.

The 2nd and 3rd engine use a factory intake manifold, with the air valves removed, and a lage plenum box welded on . We use the custom made plenum, as shown in the photos.

I will have to get the Job number for the CP pistons the other guys use, as we spec'ed 0.927" Chev piston pins for our setup, as it was stronger, and we could get a high quality tapered lightweight pin, which was less weight than 0.866" pin the honda uses. The other guys elected to use the standard size pin. Of course this meant we had to spec our rods for 0.927 little end.

Can you let me know the specs of that T4 turbo, and what ecu you are using ??

Chris
__________________

http://firesignsynergy.spaces.live.com 348 whp 309 lbs wtq and just getting warmed up!
3.2 TII Acura Legend Twin Turbo, A force (induction) to be reckoned with
Telion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 12:09 AM   #2
Telion
Don't doubt it!
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hopefully In your ECU ;)
Posts: 2,925
Telion will become famous soon enoughTelion will become famous soon enough
Send a message via MSN to Telion
Default

Originally posted by BUZZARD

Turbo's are great altitude compensators, thats why they work so well on aircraft. At 6800 ft the barometer is going to read a fair bit below sea level, but the turbo makes up the difference.

Chris



Quote:
Originally Posted by Dethred
Could it be because you're only running 5.8psi at that altitude?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Quote:
Originally Posted by sr79labrat
That is a t4 with external gate ???

Yes, i am sure we could make you a manifold, not sure of the cost. As for benifits, we didnt dyno a stock inlet so it is hard to say.

We run an australian made Autronic ecu, and i am the Newcastle dealer for them.

What is an FMU????

We ran a stock engine , it is engine #2 in a previous post, and made 185kw/248hp on 10psi boost, with the boxed up plenum. I dont think you are too far from where you should be at that boost. Any chance of posting the dyno sheet??.

What is driving the car like, turbo engines normally have wide flat torque curves, is this the case.

At around 6800 rpm we ran into problems misfiring withthe stock coils, we were making 305hp. This was using an autronic cdi. Have you experienced any misfiring. Engine #2,#3 used a ford 6 cylinder waste spark coil, off a local ford falcon, with the autronic cdi. The engine builder considered our distributor as "old hat, old technology" I wont tell you how much heartache they had trying the std coils, but it was plenty.

I would think an A/R of 0.80 - 1.00 would be more suitable for that engine, fit a pressure guage and measure the pressure between the engine and turbo. This can be done by drilling and tapping 1/8 npt on the turbo or manifold flange.

Use a 1/8 npt compression fitting, some thin metal/copper tube and a suitable guage. Make your metal tube long to dissipate the heat.

You are looking for a ratio of 1:1 or better , that is for 5 psi boost you want 5 psi or less backpressure.

Yes, it is externally wastegated up to .5 bar now. The car pulls very hard for the altitude, but the faster I go the harder it seems to pull. I am sure I have ex. leaks in the system, and the piping job is less than desirable-it kills my spool up time I am sure. I was able to pull a 350 Z from a roll on 5.8psi. An FMU adj. the fuel pressure 1lb per psi to richen the mix for the turbo. A cheap way out from injectors and a good fuel mgmt. system. I dont think I am missing on any cylinders, but then again I am only running to stock redline. I dont make power beyond that anyhow so it would not be benificial until I installed a cam. Do you have a large cam in you engines? There is a dyno sheet in the dyno post above this.

Kyle
We run mild cams, and you may have read me talking about our bank to bank problems with the cams. If you are going to get cams, MAKE SURE that they are the same on each bank. I think if i was doing another set of cams, i would try WEB cams inthe US.

Can you put a link to that dyno sheet, i cant find it.

The cams really help the engine at high rpm, on our #1 engine we are using 7800rpm redline and it pulls all the way to it.

I have heard that the type 2 cams are different,is this the case ?? Will someone send me a set so i can measure them ???

We are only seeing type 1 engines over here in AUS, as we only get JDM engines from the importers.

Good luck.

Chris
__________________

http://firesignsynergy.spaces.live.com 348 whp 309 lbs wtq and just getting warmed up!
3.2 TII Acura Legend Twin Turbo, A force (induction) to be reckoned with
Telion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 12:54 AM   #3
Bigboy
Acuraholiks Member!
 
Bigboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 3,981

Bigboy will become famous soon enoughBigboy will become famous soon enough
Send a message via AIM to Bigboy Send a message via Yahoo to Bigboy
Default

is it just my pc, I get a error message when trying to view the pics?
__________________
Bigboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 12:58 AM   #4
Russian
.
 
Russian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,893




Russian will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigboy View Post
is it just my pc, I get a error message when trying to view the pics?
I think the pics are just old, dead links.
Russian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 12:59 AM   #5
Bigboy
Acuraholiks Member!
 
Bigboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 3,981

Bigboy will become famous soon enoughBigboy will become famous soon enough
Send a message via AIM to Bigboy Send a message via Yahoo to Bigboy
Default

oh okay, thanks.
__________________
Bigboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 10:12 AM   #6
GreekPower
Senior Member
 
GreekPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 14,086

Real Name: Lou aka Greek
GreekPower will become famous soon enoughGreekPower will become famous soon enough
Send a message via AIM to GreekPower Send a message via MSN to GreekPower Send a message via Yahoo to GreekPower Send a message via Skype™ to GreekPower
Default

Telion are those pics supposed to be of the turbo buggy? If so I have them somewhere.
__________________

PM BOX IS FULL! Text me 724-584-0340
7/28/10 7:37pm Hell has frozen over Greek REMOVED his engine
1/26/13 7:23pm SHE RUNS! video >>> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Se4r5Y3RjqA
5/18/13 3:27pm DYNO! 577whp/501wtq @19psi
GreekPower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 02:51 PM   #7
Homeboyx
Pimp Hand Strong
 
Homeboyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Compton, CA
Posts: 14,468



Real Name: Papi
Homeboyx has a spectacular aura aboutHomeboyx has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to Homeboyx Send a message via Yahoo to Homeboyx
Default

picky no showy
__________________

RIP Fut
"A Legend Never Dies..." -Yours Truly
Quote:
Originally Posted by kotetu View Post
When something is so obviously wrong and draws your attention this strongly, you should look around to see what it's drawing attention away from.
Homeboyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 07:52 PM   #8
Telion
Don't doubt it!
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hopefully In your ECU ;)
Posts: 2,925
Telion will become famous soon enoughTelion will become famous soon enough
Send a message via MSN to Telion
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreekPower View Post
Telion are those pics supposed to be of the turbo buggy? If so I have them somewhere.
Pretty sure they are can you update it I can't seem to locate mine and think I might have lost them.
__________________

http://firesignsynergy.spaces.live.com 348 whp 309 lbs wtq and just getting warmed up!
3.2 TII Acura Legend Twin Turbo, A force (induction) to be reckoned with
Telion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 10:15 PM   #9
Jonslegend
Ive Got 2nd Gear!!!!
 
Jonslegend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: West Blocton, AL
Posts: 2,280

Real Name: Jonathan Roose
Jonslegend will become famous soon enough
Default

ok im hearing not 56k friendly alot. what the heck does it mean
__________________

It's not Gold, It's Cashmere
Jonslegend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 10:25 PM   #10
sap
ignore the smoke
 
sap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 1,545



sap will become famous soon enough
Send a message via AIM to sap
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonslegend View Post
ok im hearing not 56k friendly alot. what the heck does it mean
It means there are lots of pictures, thus you won't want to open the thread if you're on dial-up.
__________________

Sig by Cole Austin
RIP Fut RIP l4zy
Stop by the unofficial Acura Legend IRC channel: Rizon #acuralegend.org
Check out the Acura Legend Wiki!
sap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

AcuraLegend.Org is not affiliated with, nor represents in any form, Acura and Honda Motor Company. Some logos and names used herein remain the trademark of Honda Motor Company.