AcuraLegend.Org - The Acura Legend Forum for All Generations of the Honda / Acura Legend; 1986 to Present  

Go Back   AcuraLegend.Org - The Acura Legend Forum for All Generations of the Honda / Acura Legend; 1986 to Present > First Generation Legend -- 1986 - 1990 > 1st Gen. Legend Performance Enhancements

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2014, 01:26 PM   #41
sam o nela
Banned
 
sam o nela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 7,250




sam o nela is a glorious beacon of lightsam o nela is a glorious beacon of lightsam o nela is a glorious beacon of lightsam o nela is a glorious beacon of lightsam o nela is a glorious beacon of lightsam o nela is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Makes sense given the change in displacement and the addition of the variable intake runners to the 2.7.

I do, however, have a 2.5 5MT on my 2.7 swapped car....looking forward to driving it (someday) even more now
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by "Chopped" View Post
I Would Think The Higher Octane Fuel Would Burn Cleaner...Thus Leaving Less Deposits Of Carbon...But Im Not Even Smart Enough To Stop My Phone From Capitalizing Everything...
RIP fut
sam o nela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 05:06 PM   #42
Intel
JDM Ka3 owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 9
Real Name: Karl
Intel is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sam o nela View Post
Mechanically the same (they'll mount). I feel like the gear ratios are different between 2.5 and 2.7 though. Wire harness is slightly different because the ECU is different. But if you're just looking at a transmission swap you should be good
Thanks for that.
Alright, now just to see where I can get a manual coupe ECU from in australia :O
Intel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 03:48 PM   #43
A Yo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8


A Yo is on a distinguished road
Default Auto to Manual Tranny Swap

[QUOTE=A Yo;455353]What about bypassing the vehicle speed sensor when doing that tranny swap? Plz help.
A Yo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 03:50 PM   #44
A Yo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8


A Yo is on a distinguished road
Default

I need help with my ‘90 Legend auto to manual tranny swap!
A Yo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 09:36 AM   #45
l4zy415
FRISCO LEGEND BABY!!
 
l4zy415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 10,178

Real Name: James
l4zy415 has a spectacular aura aboutl4zy415 has a spectacular aura aboutl4zy415 has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via AIM to l4zy415 Send a message via MSN to l4zy415
Default

[QUOTE=A Yo;562120]
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Yo View Post
What about bypassing the vehicle speed sensor when doing that tranny swap? Plz help.
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Yo View Post
I need help with my 90 Legend auto to manual tranny swap!
Can't really bypass it since it controls the speedometer for the cluster and the function speed for the power steering assist.
__________________


My Build Thread
Oh my gawd
That jar better blow me twice and cook breakfast for $1000.
l4zy415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 02:24 PM   #46
A Yo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8


A Yo is on a distinguished road
Default

[QUOTE=A Yo;562120]
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Yo View Post
What about bypassing the vehicle speed sensor when doing that tranny swap? Plz help.
A Yo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2018, 10:50 AM   #47
Ken
ridin' high
 
Ken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: land of the far left
Posts: 1,515

Ken is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Ken
Default

[QUOTE=A Yo;563058]

What about it? James already answered your question above. The VSS is a mechanical part that goes into your transmission. Just remove your old one and put it into the manual trans. and it will work as it should.
__________________
. k e n

Last edited by Ken; 11-22-2018 at 10:52 AM.
Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2018, 10:18 PM   #48
paulo57509
Senior Member
 
paulo57509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 731
paulo57509 is on a distinguished road
Default

[QUOTE=A Yo;562120]
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Yo View Post
What about bypassing the vehicle speed sensor when doing that tranny swap? Plz help.
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Yo View Post
I need help with my ‘90 Legend auto to manual tranny swap!
There's a speed pulser (sensor) on the automatics that isn't there on manual transmissions. Is this what you're referring to as the speed sensor?



If it is, I don't think you have to worry about it. It's used by the transmission control unit. Neither is necessary to run a manual transmission.
__________________
'87 L-Coupe 5-Speed
Stock; Few Mods
444K Miles - original engine and drivetrain.

Last edited by paulo57509; 12-05-2018 at 05:02 AM. Reason: Clarification and Grammar
paulo57509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

AcuraLegend.Org is not affiliated with, nor represents in any form, Acura and Honda Motor Company. Some logos and names used herein remain the trademark of Honda Motor Company.